International Society of Automation presents standards and practices awards

Dec 22, 2016

The International Society of Automation Standards & Practices (S&P) department publishes 15-20 new or revised standards and technical reports annually that improve safety, cybersecurity and efficiency in industrial processes. Each year, its governing ISA S&P Board presents department-level awards in recognition of outstanding efforts that resulted in ISA standards or technical reports, or significant outcomes for an ISA standards committee.

This year, five individuals won awards at the recent ISA leaders meeting. They were presented by Nicholas Sands of DuPont, who is also vice president for 2015-16 of ISA’s S&P department. The winners are:

• Darwin Logerot, ProSys Inc., and David Strobhar, Beville Engineering, for their leadership and technical contributions as co-working group chairs in their development of the ISA-TR18.2.2-2016, “Alarm identification and rationalization.”

• Johan Nye, ExxonMobil Research and Engineering, and Kevin Staggs, Honeywell Connected Systems Technology Center, for their leadership, technical contributions and efforts to promote the advancement and adoption of the ISA/IEC 62443 security standards.

• Michael Medoff, exida, for his leadership and technical expertise as chairman of ISA99 Working Group 4, Task Group 6 in developing ISA-62443-4-1, “Security for industrial automation and control systems—secure product development lifecycle requirements.”

You might also like: Six users win awards from Schneider Electric

 “For more than 50 years, Omega has been a brand recognized for quality, customer service and technical support,” adds Vorih. “I’m excited about the possibilities in our future. and honored to have the opportunity to lead a company with Omega’s reputation into another chapter of its growth.”